h1

Untouched

April 29, 2007

Was reminiscing about good old Mumbai yesterday.
The Traffic, the Local Trains, the maddening crowds, the pushing, shoving, running, sweating hordes, The Heat and Humidity, The Mad life force of the city.

Spoke to him yesterday.

Asked him how Mumbai was.
He smiled and said its all right. The same.
I asked him if the traffic was as bad?
He sighed and said…yeah still as bad, actually worse.
I asked him if he still drove down everyday in his car to work, like he always did.
He smirked and said “Of course! What kind of question is that? Naturally!”
I asked him if it was still as hot, sweaty, humid and generally maddening in Mumbai. Were the crowds as bad?
Now he got a little irked…of course! How much can change over two weeks?

I smiled to myself. He did not hear it over the phone.

It’s sometimes nice to ask obvious questions to hear the answers you want to listen to.

It was just nice to know that in some part of the world, reality was untouched.
That in my city, things were still the same. That if I went back today, I would feel like coming home.

3 comments

  1. hmmm…ever chanced upon these lines? “You know that point in your life when you realize that the house that you grew up in isn’t really your home anymore? All of the sudden even though you have some place where you can put your stuff that idea of home is gone
    … You’ll see when you move out it just sort of happens one day one day and it’s just gone. And you can never get it back. It’s like you get homesick for a place that doesn’t exist. I mean it’s like this rite of passage, you know.” from Garden State… glad that you arent in that state 🙂 meanwhile drop in for some fourplay at my place 😀


  2. What has changed is the traffic, the heat, the people starting to bother me… The music is not as melodious, the joy rides have gone out of the potholes, the cops dont catch me on the phone… Its not the same


  3. * Manuscrypts – Yeah I am glad too. Mumbai will always feel home. And its the city. And the people there. They feel like home.

    * Someone (He) – 🙂 you will make me cry now.



Leave a Reply

