h1

More than furniture

July 29, 2007

O.K. So I was the soppy kind of a kid who used to absolutely loooovvveeee playing ‘houses’ when I was younger. (you can see how soppy I was by the way I pull that looooovvveee)

Last week an unexpected visit to Ikea left me with that same exhilarated feeling that you have when you are playing houses (yes yes! I am soppy!)– that of creating your own house, in a way you want, with your imagination and without compromising on your choice.

Of course – I was only buying a few knick-knacks (for the rented apartment with its already existing furniture) and not an entire houseful of stuff, but it suddenly gave me this deep deep longing to start playing houses again – only this time for real. Make my own house, maybe design my own house like an architect.

And in my mind I was already making up some 20 different houses with a different interiors theme for each of them – The one with the white walls and red windows, the one with the turquoise and blue curtains and lazed out sea-green lounge in the hall, the one with the black and grey dining table and chairs and the one with the cream porch with the warm brown cushion chairs.

And I could not stop co-coordinating the curtains with the cutlery with the bath-mats with the laundry basket with the sofa with the bed-sheets with the closets with the curtains with the waste-paper basket with the knife-holder, with the refrigerator with the lamp shades with the picture frames. And suddenly I wished I were an interior designer and people’s houses were my canvas and I paint my imagination on their walls and in their gardens,

The coolest part about Ikea is the do-it-yourself concept. For those like me who are so used to the furniture being delivered home by those wizened looking men in the white vest and tattered trousers on their ancient handcart, the whole packed-Sofa-cum-Bed-take-home-in-the-backseat-of-your-car-and-assemble-in-your-bedroom-in-fifteen-minutes concept can be really exciting.

It’s almost like making a sculpture or something. O.K not exactly like sculpting (I know I know ..,, I just got a little carried away) but closer to sculpting than most of us have ever been. And suddenly I want to be a sculptor and make beautiful figures in marble and clay that adorn living rooms across the world

And then I go into the kitchens – those tastefully made-up, co-ordinated, fully equipped modular kitchens and I want to be a chef only so that I spend all my time in that you-cant-believe-a-kitchen-can-be-so-beautiful-kind-of-kitchen

And once I spent hours strolling through this wonderland, I suddenly wanted to be the merchandiser for this store because that gives you the chance to select what you want to keep in this store, to provide co-ordinated material.

I knew Ikea was about building color-co-ordinated dreams, self-sufficient houses, perfect homes. But now I know it can also be about all those things I could have been but am not.

Don’t think they know yet, that they sell more than furniture.

5 comments

  1. they sell dreams….and not only of a lovely house…


  2. i think ikea ought to read this and publish it and pay you for it :))
    who wouldnt visit them after reading this


  3. It is Gilmore-Royal Albert Hall 30th May 06. It was recorded on a mobile phone..so I guess it sounds a little different from the studio version…could sent it to you if I know where to 🙂


  4. I think Ikea knows how to attract, their colors and prices both seem to be good,but quality no comments 😛


  5. * Dreamcatcher – Exactly.
    Na its all right…just wanted to know if it’s Waters.

    * Thats me – I also think they should. 100% 😀

    * Rambler – Sckeptical you!



Leave a Reply

